Photo of Via Dolorosa sign
A sign on the path of the Via Dolorosa By Ian and Wendy Sewell

What is the Via Dolorosa?

This “Way of Grief” is a pilgrimage path that recreates the route Jesus may have taken on the way to his crucifixion. This pilgrimage route dates back to the time of the Byzantines in the 4th century, but has had many modifications since. More symbolic than historically accurate, this path began as memorial or devotional walk for pilgrims to connect with the Passion story.

This path originated east of the Temple Mount at the Mount of Olives and moved westward with stops along the way at Gethsemane, the Old City of Jerusalem, and what is now the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. Today it has 14 “stations” or stops that each tell a different part of the story, either from tradition or straight from Scripture.

Holy Week timeline

The events of Jesus’ arrest, trial, and crucifixion can be found in Luke 22:39-23:49. These events all took place on the Friday of that week. Even today, each Friday at 3:00 PM, the Franciscans lead a weekly procession along the Via Dolorosa (via Sacred Destinations).

Photo of Holy Week Timeline
Holy Week Timeline from

Follow along in the video map

This interactive Google Maps video was created by Jerusalem Experience and contains the 14 stations of the cross. The videos are on-location and explain each station. (It may be helpful for you to watch the videos with the closed captioning turned on.)

How to use the video map:

  1. Click on the expand button on the upper right to view the map larger.
  2. Click on each pin to learn more (the left sidebar will appear, or you can click the drop-down menu icon)
  3. Click the picture at the top of the left sidebar to play the video.

Learn more:

Save to Pinterest: